Access to a number of online databases not found on the "Free Internet". Sources include full text newspapers, magazines, car repair guides, books, antique price guides, language learning and so much more. A valid CLAMS card issued from the JBPL is needed for databases funded by JBPL. Other databases will require a valid Massachusetts library card. Funding for the databases provided by Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC), Southeastern Massachusetts Regional Library System (SEMLS) Massachusetts Library System (MLS) and the Jonathan Bourne Public Library (JBPL).
Search databases alphabetically
A to Z The USA
Provides state, county and city information as well as maps, flags, photos and facts of all 50 states and 5 U.S. Territories. Includes historical maps and census information. You will need your Bourne Library card to access from a non-Bourne library computer. Provided by JBPL.
A to Z World Travel
Provides travel information for world cities. Includes travel guides and resources. Don't take your trip until you've looked at the resources found here. Provided by JBPL with funds provided by the Cape Cod Foundation.
From Anywhere
Academic OneFile
Academic journal "powerhouse." Indexing for 8,000 journals, most full-text. Includes arts, humanities, literature, science & technology, social sciences, & more. Provided by MBLC.
Ancestry Library Edition
More than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, including U.S. Census, military, court, land & probate records; vital & church records, directories, passenger lists & more. Provided by JBPL.
Automobile Repair Reference Center
Repair & Wiring diagrams. Illustrated repair instructions for U.S. & foreign cars from 1945-present. Provided by the JBPL
Biography In Context
Over 1 million individuals past & present, throughout history, from around the world, across all disciplines. Articles from Gale biographical reference works, magazine articles. Includes thumbnail biographies from the Marquis Who's Who series. Provided by MBLC.
Biography Resource Center: African Americans
Comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 25,000 people from throughout history and across all disciplines and subject areas. Provided by MBLC.
Book Index With Reviews / BIR Entertainment
Provides information on the books you want and need to read. Includes forthcoming books, search by subject and much much more. BIR Entertainment provides information on 450,000 music titles and 200,000 DVD/Video titles. Find music or videos featuring a favorite artist or performer or specific genre. Provided by JBPL.
Books and Authors
Explores endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics by combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists. Includes resources from the entire What Do I Read Next collection. Funded by MLS.
Business and Company Resource Center
Comprehensive research tool meeting core curriculum requirements in undergraduate and graduate case study work as well as the business research needs of the job seeker or casual investor. It offers dynamic, accurate, and up-to-date topical business information and company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies. Funded by MLS.
Business Suite (RDS)
Collection of 3 business databases - Business & Industry - broad based information database focusing on facts, figures, events and market information. International in scope, Business & Management Practices - focuses on practical approaches to management processes and methods and TableBase - a database comprised of tabular information of a strategic nature. Funded by MLS.
Repairs and diagnostics on domestic and foreign models from 1929 to the present. A valid Bourne Library card is needed for home access. Provided by JBPL.
CLAMS Catalog
Access the CLAMS catalog where you can renew materials, place holds, change your PIN # and so much more.
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Extensive full-text collectioon of biographical & critical essays on major modern authors. Provided by MBLC.
Educator's Reference Complete
contains more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports from the U.S. Department of Education. A resource for any educator - from school teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC. Provided by MBLC.
Huge database, completely full-text. Articles on all topics from major newpapers, magazines & scholarly journals, book excerpts & reference works, TV & radio transcripts, maps, photos & illustrations. Funded by SEMLS.
Expanded Academic ASAP
(1980-present) General interest magazines supplemented by scholarly journals in humanities, science, social sciences and current events. 2800 journals indexed; over 1,000 full text. Provided by MBLC.
Over 20 full-text individual and multi-volume reference works covering the arts, biography, business, environment, literature, medicine, geography & science.
Provided by MBLC.
General Business File ASAP
(1980-present) Includes broker research reports on corporations. Business & trade journals indexed, with many full text. Provided by MBLC.
General Reference Center Gold
(1980 - present) Indexing for 2000 general interest magazines; over 1200 full-text. Current events, popular culture, travel, business, health, social sciences, arts, science & technology, sports, hobbies & crafts. Provided by MBLC.
Global Issues In Context
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Funded by MLS
Global Road Warrior
Database provides complete information on the nations of the world. Includes customs, food, economies and so much more. Provided by JBPL with funding from the Cape Cod Foundation.
From Anywhere
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos from partner Healthology, Inc., hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.
Health Reference Center Academic
(1980 - present) 1500 journals indexed; many full-text. Medicine, nursing, allied health & alternative medicine. Includes alcohol & drug abuse, diseases, prescription drugs, nutrition, public health & more. Over 40 full-text nursing journals. Provided by MBLC.
(1980 - present) 10,000 journals, 6,000 full-text. Arts, literature, science & technology, religion, history, communications, social sciences & law, business & industry, health care & more. Provided by MBLC.
Info -Trac Student Edition
For Middle and High school students, grade 5-12. Full-text magazine & news articles, reference works in science, social studies, art, sports, health, popular culture & more. Provided by MBLC.
A collection of forms ranging from bankruptcy, adoption, renting and much more. You will need a valid Bourne Library Card to access from home. Provided by JBPL.
Literary Reference Center
Covers thousands of authors in all literary forms & periods. 27,000 plot summaries. 4,000 author interviews & over 140,500 author bios. 350 literary journals. Full text literary works, 54,000 poems, 14,500 short stories and 8,400 classic literary works. Provided by MBLC.
Literature Resource Center
Provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Funded by MLS.
LitFinder
Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Funded by MLS.
Online language - learning system that can help you learn a language at your own pace. Available courses include Spanish, Italian, German, French, Brazilian Portuguese and ESL Brazilian Portuguese. Bourne library card needed for access outside of the library. Provided by JBPL with funding made possible by the Cape Cod Foundation.
Massachusetts History Online
Over 600 archives & manuscript collections in Massachusetts. Full-text articles from 50 magazines & local newspapers covering people, places & historical events. Provided by MBLC
Find great reading, fiction or non-fiction, with Author Read-alikes, feature articles, discussion guides and other tools. Want a list of all the books written by a particular author? Look no further. Need to know all the books in a particular series? You got it, check out this database. Provided by JBPL
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents and more. Funded by MLS.
Overdrive - Downloadable Audio and E-Book Materials
E-books, Audio books, music and more are available to download to your own computer or player. Provided by JBPL.
Database providing prices and information on antiques and collectibles. You will need your valid Bourne library card to log in from home. Provided by JBPL.
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of todays' most significant science topics. Funded by MLS.
Science Reference Center
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Provided by SEMLS.
Student Resources in Context
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. Funded by MLS.
Need to find a college? Studying for the SAT's? This database does it all. Test study guides, college information, what majors are offered where? A valid Bourne Library card is needed to access from home. Provided by JBPL.
Provides an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
All ages
World Book Advanced provides access to not only the familiar encyclopedia but also dictionaries, primary sources, Massachusetts information, headlines and much much more. Access from home using your library card. Funded by JBPL.
World History in Context
Provides an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. Funded by MLS.
FOR KIDS
Info Trac K-12 Junior Edition
For junior high/middle school students, provides full text reference information, magazine & news articles. Provided by MBLC.
Kids InfoBits
For elementary school children. Easy access to full-text reference works, magazines & news articles on science, history, current events, sports & more. Provided by MBLC.
NoveList Plus K-8
Find great reading for kids with feature articles, book talks, award winners, discussion guides for picture books. Provided by JBPL
Tumblebooks
Tumblebooks are animated e-books for young readers. Database also includes games, puzzles and language skills, and read along stories. Provided by JBPL.
NEWSPAPERS
Boston Globe
Full text coverage of local, national and international news (1980-present). Provided by MBLC.
The Boston Herald
Full text coverage from 1991 - Current. Provided by MBLC.
Cape Cod Times
Full text from November 1998 - present. Provided by MLS.
Massachusetts Newstand
Searches articles from many Massachusetts based newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Boston Herald, Plymouth County Business Review, Quincy Patriot Ledger, Worcester Telegram New Bedford Standard Times, Lowell Sun & more as well as The Wall Street Journal and Providence Journal. Provided by MBLC.
New York Times
(1980-present) Full-text coverage from the US newspaper of record. Coverage of national & international news, plus coverage of important speeches & documents, Supreme Court decisions & presidential press conference transcripts. Provided by MBLC.
Proquest Newspaper Collection
Find local and national news articles with one search. Full-text access to the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Providence Journal and 12 Massachusetts newspapers. Funded by MBLC and SEMLS
Wall Street Journal
(1980 - Present) The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance. Provided by SEMLS.

